“I’m diabetic”

I hear that a lot, thank God not me, but I run in to a lot of people with this health issue. They want to get a policy, protect their loved ones but then they say “I’m diabetic” and it seems like people think it’s a automatic decline. But it’s not! Don’t kick yourself for that health condition.

The main factor that insurance companies look for is the A1C level, which if you have it up to 7 you still can qualify for a policy. Then other factors go in, such as age, overall health and medical history.

Today I sat down with a client, 62 years-old who seemed like she was in good health until she told me that and thought it would be an automatic decline. I told her that she could get, potentially, $50,000 in coverage for less than $100 a month, which did excite her but then she said “I’m diabetic” and thought I was going to tell her “sorry, I can’t help you”, but much to her surprise I did say “I can still get you insured, we just need to find out your A1C level before submitting your policy, because you don’t want to be declined and then that stays in the record when you try to apply with another company. Even though we didn’t do business today, it was nice to see the level of excitement go up.

Don’t wait until your sick to apply for a policy, do it while you’re healthy and in good shape. A lot of people wait until their health is bad to apply, but there’s no better time than today to take action. Do it while you’re healthy! And if you are having health issues, you can always ask and I can take a look in to your situation.

Published by Daniel Chalian

Thank you for stopping by. I'm Life and Health Licensed through the State of California, but I can service all 50 States. My intention is to help guide you through this maze that is life insurance and to also be able to truly understand how to plan for your future. No Family Left Behind.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started